Eclosed – A New Chapter

The term “eclose” is generally used in the etymological world to describe an adult insect coming out of its pupa state. From an old life to a new life. That’s not only how I describe salvation through Jesus, but how I describe changes in life as well. For me, change has been unfolding for the last year.

In terms of life, change has come from a form of hurt, betrayal, healing, and new beginnings. After leaving our church, of which I have spent the last twelve years at, we moved on to bigger and better things. We found a new church, new church family and friends, and a refreshed way of thinking. This change has brought a lightening of burdens, new found liberty to worship, and freedom in our life. This brought a new perspective to me in many ways. Jesus is more real, God’s love more precious, His Holy Ghost more present. This has enriched my life, so naturally it would reflect that way in my music.

I have been a little slow at music making these days. Last year, I took part in a fun project for a band that my brother, friend, and myself formed, called Aegis Heart. We put together our music attributes into one to form a unique musical experience. Check out our album Casus Vitae. But, I have also started writing songs on my perspective through this last year of change. I have found more freedom in music with my new found perspective and have been using that to fuel new songs. The first song that came out of this was a song of hurt, feeling alone, and finding refuge in God. Brother to Dragons shares Job’s grief with verbiage straight from the book of the Bible with his name. I released a single for that, so check it out.

This leads me to my next project, Eclosed. This project will be a compilation of songs that encompass this change in life and music. From one stage to the next. I’m not sure when this will come out. Just like a moth eclosing from its cocoon, it may take some time. But, when it does, I think it’ll be a beautiful thing.

https://markscott-music.bandcamp.com/album/brother-to-dragons-single

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment